For expert advice call us now on:

0333 3445 690

Awarding Organisations

Awarding organisations design and award qualifications which recognise the skills, knowledge and understanding achieved by a student at a particular level and in a particular subject. The awarding organisations will check that the courses they accredit are being delivered to their quality standards. This means that you can be sure that when you obtain a qualification accredited by an awarding organisation you have reached a standard that is consistent throughout the world.

awarding organisations...


ABC Awards has become a formal part of the EMFEC group. ABC Awards was setup in 1998 as a joint venture between EMFEC, CENTRA and Learning South West. ABC Awards was one of the first vocational awarding bodies to be approved by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA) for inclusion in the National Qualifications Framework. ABC is a ‘generalist’ awarding body offering vocational qualifications from Entry Level to Level 4 across a wide range of sectors.

AQA - The Assessment and Qualifications Alliance

The Assessment and Qualifications Alliance (AQA) is the largest of the Unitary Awarding Bodies in the UK. AQA offers a range of qualifications and services, including GCSE, GCE, GNVQ, VCE and Entry Level. AQA's primary purpose is to ensure that students’ attainments are supported by best assessment practice and that their grades are a reliable statement of their achievement.


Edexcel was formed in 1996 by the merger of the Business & Technology Education Council (BTEC), the country’s leading provider of vocational qualifications, and the University of London Examinations & Assessment Council (ULEAC), one of the major exam boards for GCSEs and A levels.

In the UK, Edexcel work with more than 5,000 secondary schools, 450 further education colleges, 70 higher education institutions and more than 700 employers and training providers. As the company responsible for marking the national Key Stage 2 and 3 tests, they are also now working with 20,000 junior schools. Internationally, Edexcel operate in 112 countries and every year more than four million people trust their respected learning programmes and qualifications.


EDI is an accredited Awarding Body and leading international education company. Its services include accredited vocational and professional qualifications, online performance measures for schools and assessment solutions for awarding bodies and companies.

EDI was formed in December 2002 by the merger of GOAL plc with the London Chamber of Commerce and Industry Examinations Board (LCCIEB). LCCI qualifications have been offered since 1887, and are respected around the world as passports to both employment and higher education.

EDI works in collaboration with industry, governments, universities and professional bodies, around the world to ensure its qualifications and assessments are accredited, recognised and relevant.

IAB - International Association of Book keepers

The IAB is the premier body that oversees professional training in qualifications for business. Established in 1973, the IAB now has 8,000 students and members worldwide. The IAB qualifications are accredited in England by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA) and the regulatory authorities in Wales and Northern Ireland and are eligible for government funding in these countries." Whilst the IAB is based in the UK , its examinations are offered in over 80 countries around the world. The IAB examinations reflect the requirements of International Accounting Standards (IAS). Membership of the IAB means holding a truly internationally recognised qualification.

Institute of Certified Bookkeepers

The Institute of Certified Bookkeepers is the largest bookkeeping institute in the world. It promotes and maintains the standards of bookkeeping as a profession, through the establishment of a series of relevant qualifications and the award of grades of membership that recognise academic attainment, working experience and competence. The Institute’s objectives are:

    1. To promote bookkeeping as a profession
    2. To enable bookkeeping to gain recognition as an integral part of the financial profession
    3. To promote training in the principles of bookkeeping
    4. To develop personal study skills and improve confidence of those persons who undertake a course in bookkeeping
    5. To enable the achievement of a qualification, which may be used to enhance prospects for progression into higher levels of study.
    6. To improve the career prospects of its members.
    7. Consultation with commerce and industry has confirmed and amplified the Institute’s assessment of the need for qualified bookkeepers. Employers both large and small are fully supportive of the objectives of The Institute of Certified Bookkeepers.



NCFE can trace its roots back over 150 years of supporting education and to this date continues to work with Colleges of Further Education and Private Training Providers. NCFE offers more than 500 qualifications at different levels and in a wide range of subject areas. NCFE recognise the skills, knowledge and understanding achieved by a learner at a particular level and in a particular subject. Based in Newcastle in the North East, NCFE cover the length and breadth of the UK with their qualification offer.

NCFE is recognised as an awarding body by The Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA) in England, the Council for Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment (CCEA) in Northern Ireland, and the Qualifications, Curriculum and Assessment Authority. Could we add more text to this area?


Training Qualification UK are one of the newest, most dynamic awarding organisations in the industry, seeking to bring a fresh approach and excellent service to training providers, colleges and learners. TQUK qualifications are designed by leading professionals and delivered to centres and learners with integrity and compliance in mind. TQUK have rigorous quality assurance controls and procedures in place and are committed to maintaining the highest standards of customer service, qualification delivery and assessment.

TQUK are fully approved as an awarding organisation by Ofqual and award QCF courses in a number of sectors. QCF courses have various credits values which can be applied to the National Credit Transfer System. TQUK accredit courses which are developed by industry experts and work hand in hand with organisations ensuring the calibre and worth of courses provided.

Additional Information

Accreditation of Distance Learning Programmes

Awarding Body Accreditation for various courses will be provided by NCC Resources. Once you are registered for your course, NCC Resources will ensure that you are registered with the appropriate awarding body and that your accreditation and certification is undertaken in accordance with awarding body regulations.



  • Entry Level Certificates
  • Skills for Life at Entry Level
  • GCSEs graded D-G
  • NVQs at Level 1
  • Key Skills Level 1
  • Skills for Life
  • Foundation Diploma
  • GCSEs graded A*-C
  • NVQs at Level 2
  • Level 2 VRQs
  • Key Skills Level 2
  • Skills for Life
  • Higher Diploma
  • AS/A levels
  • Advanced Extension Awards
  • International Baccalaureate
  • Key Skills Level 3
  • NVQs at Level 3
  • Cambridge International Awards
  • Advanced and Progression Diploma
4 - 8

These levels include professional and work-based qualifications such as Higher National Diplomas, Level 4 and 5 NVQs, BTEC Professional and Advanced Professional Diplomas, Certificates and Awards. They involve specialist learning and high level knowledge of an area of work or study appropriate for people working in technical and professional jobs or managerial roles. These qualifications are equivalent to those provided by universities and other higher education institutions.